The Board is responsible for more than 3,600 km2 of water within the district, the area not only includes the mainstem of the River Forth, the estuary and coast, but also the tributaries. These include, but not limited to: Allan, Almond, Avon, Bannockburn, Carron, Devon, Esk, Leny, Leven, Teith, Tyne, Water of Leith.