The Forth District Salmon Fishery Board was established under the 1862 and 1868 Salmon Fisheries Legislation, then subsequently amended in the Salmon Act 1986 and the Salmon Conservation (Scotland) Act 2001.  This legislation has been recently amalgamated under the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act 2003.

The Board is empowered under legislation to take such acts as it considers expedient for the protection, enhancement and conservation of stocks of Salmon and Sea Trout.  It also has a duty to ensure the general protection and enhancements of the fishery.

The Board is responsible for more than 3,600 km2 of water within the district, the area not only includes the mainstem of the River Forth, the estuary and coast, but also the tributaries. These include, but not limited to: Allan, Almond, Avon, Bannockburn, Carron, Devon, Esk, Leny, Leven, Teith, Tyne, Water of Leith

Forth District Catchment – Click on the map for more information on each catchment

Office Bearers

The Board is elected and any proprietor can stand for election.  The Board also has powers to co-opt members.  Currently three salmon anglers are represented on the Board.  See “About Us” for more information.

Angling within the District
For information and contact details for the fishings within the District please go to the Rivers Section, here you’ll also find links to the SEPA river gauges for each River.